Skip to content

Early Bird

July 20, 2010
by

Today I woke up a new woman. Actually, today I woke up early and went for a run. And it was
glorious!
See, a couple years ago, I woke up at 5ish several times a week and went straight to the gym
for a pre-work workout. It was hard the first week – 5 a.m. is really really ridiculously early, in
case you didn’t know – but once I got into the routine I loved it. I loved getting my workout done
right away, I loved the open machines and weights in the gym, and I loved seeing familiar faces
each morning, especially a friend who taught an awesome spin class. Most importantly, I felt
like I was making myself a priority each day. I didn’t like my job very much at the time, so it felt
good to workout and eat a healthy breakfast before I had to face it. Made me feel stronger, ya
know?
Anyways, fast forward 2 years, a move to Nebraska, and a new job with a 7 a.m. start time (+
30 minute commute). Do you know how early I would have to get up to get in a workout and
get ready to head out the door by 6:30? EARLY. (Have you noticed yet that I’m not exactly
a morning person?) The gym isn’t really an option since it’s in the opposite direction of work,
so I would have to be ready even earlier. But I told myself this summer that I would run in the
mornings a few days a week. It’s too hot and humid to run outside after work, so if I ever want
to run outside, I have to do it early in the morning. I tried to do this before today, I really did. I
got out my running clothes, put them in the bathroom so I could get dressed without waking my
husband and puppy, and set my alarm for 5. And each time I did that, I would inevitably wake
up around 5:30 after 3 smacks of the snooze button and wouldn’t have time to run.
Last night I let myself have no excuses. I was running today, period. So I used my old trick
and set my cell phone alarm and put the phone across the room. When I heard the “ding-
dong” of that alarm this morning, I bolted out of bed to grab the phone. Then I hit snooze and
got back in bed. Fail. The alarm went off 5 minutes later and I was up! To the bathroom!
On with the running clothes! Success. I was out the door by 5:15 and got in a peaceful,
energizing 3 miles by 5:45. The dog was confused – people in our house don’t get up early
and do stuff. So I played with her for a few minutes and then let her lick me while I stretched.
Is there anything better than a great run and some puppy love in the morning? I think not.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

