Skip to content

Lincoln Half-Marathon!

May 11, 2010
by

Last weekend I ran my third half-marathon, my second in Lincoln, Nebraska.  After training for a couple months I woke up on race day at 4:45 am and got ready to go.  I knew it was going to be a great day because usually I have that “why did I think this was a good idea?!” feeling about 2 seconds after my alarm goes off on the day of a race.  But not this day.  I jumped out of bed ready to run.  If you don’t know me, you don’t know how shocking this is.  I don’t jump out of bed.  Ever.  Especially not right after my alarm goes off. 

Anyways, after a debate over if I should wear my new Under Armor shirt on the “stay warm” side or the “stay cool” side, I grabbed my breakfast and coffee, woke up my wonderful husband and hopped in the car.

It was smooth sailing from there.  We got to Lincoln in plenty of time, even by taking the odd route that Google maps sent us on.  Parked, picked up my packet, put my chip on my shoe, pottied and it was time to start!

lincoln half_0006 

(I opted for the “stay warm” side of the shirt.  My sister would say that just because I am wearing lots of pink doesn’t mean it all matches :)  If you add my shoes, I think I was wearing 6 different shades of pink. What can I say?  It’s my power color!)

The Lincoln half-marathon course is great!  It starts right by the University of Nebraska (go Huskers!) and goes through parts of downtown Lincoln and some residential areas.  The absolute best part was the loads of spectators who were up early on a Sunday morning to cheer on all the runners.  I felt like I was in a parade at a few points.  Next year I might bring candy to throw to show my gratitude for all of the cheers.

lincoln half_0008

I ran strong, kept a steady pace and really felt great throughout the entire run.  Around mile 7, I ate some Sharkies to “fill the tank” and keep me going!  At the 10 mile mark, I was ready to push it and I ran the last 5k in about 26 minutes.  The finish line was on the 50 yard line of Memorial Stadium (go Huskers! again!), which made the finish so fun.  It was awesome to come around the corner into the stadium and sprint across the finish line.  You know how 50 yards looks really far when you are watching a football game and there are only seconds left and you really want your team to get another touchdown?  Well, it feels really short after 13 miles 🙂lincoln half_0073

Many thanks to my wonderful husband who got up about 5 hours earlier than his normal Sunday wake-up time to come with me to the race, keep me company before and after, and snap all these awesome pictures! 

lincoln half_0007

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

