Skip to content

I’m actually not that serious

April 20, 2010

In two weeks I will run my third half-marathon in Lincoln, NE.  On Sunday I ran a strong 11.5 miles and, although my legs are sore today, I’m feeling really good about the upcoming half-marathon.  My goal this time around?  To finish STRONG.  I would be lying if I said I didn’t also have a time in mind, but I’ll get to that in a minute.

Here’s a breakdown of my previous half-marathon experiences:

Date April 2005 May 2009
Location St. Louis, MO Lincoln, NE
My life in a nutshell Senior in college, part-time intern Full-time worker bee, part-time grad student
Training plan Novice plan from Hal Higdon Intermediate plan from Runner’s World
Speed Work none about once a week on the treadmill
Diet Happy Hour fare (giant chicken quesadilla and spin dip), Bud Light, Buffalo Chicken, cookies, Bud Light, $1 shots.  Occasional fruits and veggies. Generally healthy.  Plus chocolate.  Fruits, veggies, lean protein.  Chocolate.  Occasional wine and beer.
Goal Started as under 2 hours; revised to just finishing and running the whole thing Beat previous time
Finish time 1:57:47 2:01:11
How I felt at the finish Proud, accomplished, strong (I sprinted across the finish!) Old…achey knees, tired legs, ready for a nap

 

So why did I run slower and feel like I got hit by a truck after my second half-marathon but not the first?  Basically, I took myself too seriously the second time around.  I tried to do too much, tried to work too hard, and burnt myself out.  I didn’t enjoy it as much along the way.  I forgot why I love to run.

This time around, my training plan is somewhere in between the last two, but focuses more on just running the mileage (and only running 3 days a week), my diet is pretty good (veggies, protein, whole grains, fruit, chocolate), and I’m not concerned about getting faster.  I’m just trying to run my best, run my strongest and get enough rest.  I’m running because it’s fun to run outside in the spring, and it’s fun to work toward a goal.  But not that serious of a goal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bridget permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:29 pm

    Posted by Bridget…I thought I had it figured out but I guess not!

  2. April 21, 2010 8:36 pm

    You forgot that you actually ARE serious…SERIOUSLY AWESOME! I think you are spot on, remembering the WHY behind your running results in a happier run. 3 half marathons is no small feat, go get’em girl!

  3. July 26, 2013 1:27 pm

    You really make it appear really easy with your presentation
    however I find this matter to be actually something which I believe I
    would by no means understand. It kind of feels too
    complicated and extremely extensive for me. I’m taking a look forward for your subsequent put up, I’ll
    try to get the dangle of it!

Trackbacks

  1. Lincoln Half-Marathon! « Will Run for Snacks

Leave a Reply

