Skip to content

Because You’re an Animal and I Love You…

April 19, 2010

 

This Spring I have been searching for my workout motivation. I didn’t seem to find it in the usual locales such as my favorite weight training class at the gym or even in writing out a half-marathon training program in my planner (and I love to write things in my planner!)  Anyway, maybe it’s because these activities were two major components of my fitness journey last year that they weren’t offering that new excitement that I was looking for.

Enter P90X. If you haven’t seen the infomercials, P90X is a high intensity workout program that has a different workout each day. There are 13 possibilities and you do 6 workouts a week for 90 days. They vary between different strength routines and muscle groups, plyometrics, yoga, kickboxing/cardio, and abs. I’m generally frightened and skeptical of infomercial fitness solutions. The shake weight? Yoga Booty Ballet? You catch my drift?

But, a friend of mine has been doing the program for over a month and I have definitely noticed that his shoulders have gotten broader, he’s looking fit and yes folks, he’s got a swagger. How motivating to see these changes that a friend is making! So, my boyfriend and I drank the kool-aid and purchased the program. We are now proud owners of the DVDs, some serious dumbbells and an “iron gym!”

We’ve completed a week of workouts so far and are definitely feeling the burn! (Stay tuned for workout recap later this week!) What we like about it so far:

  • Tony Horton: The fearless leader through the workouts. Tony has no lack of enthusiasm or silly chatter. My favorite quote came during the intro DVD- “Then after you’ve completed 3 different rounds of P90X you will call me and tell me you are climbing Mt. Everest, because you are an animal and I love you.” Enough said.
  • Tony Horton
  • The workouts: The movements aren’t new or groundbreaking by any means. People have been doing push ups, pull ups, and tuck jumps for ages. What helps is that they have put it in a routine and will lead you through it. In no other situation would I grab hold of a pull up bar and endure for 50 minutes.
  • The schedule: Already knowing that I am doing P90X yoga tomorrow night and legs and back the next night, gives me something I can look forward to and can plan for.
  • And dare I say it…MOTIVATION!? Overall, these workouts may be just what I need to get the workout motivation going. It gives me something new to look forward to and also some new goals (Completing at least one un-assisted pull up by July is on my list!) Plus, it’s a great activity for K-dawg and I to do together.

So what do you guys think? Have you ever tried a completely different activity than what you are used to in search of workout motivation? How’d it go?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 7:19 pm

    Posted by Nat!
    (I’ll get this wordpress/windows live writer thing figured out soon!)

  2. Bridget permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:31 pm

    Yes! Bikram yoga last year…didn’t go so well because I didn’t really like it. Power yoga this year, which I love! Someday I would like to try P90X or Insanity or something similar, but I’m not sure I could handle the structure.

Leave a Reply

